Hello world! Run and Save Yourselves!   3 comments

Well, not really. No running allowed on this blog anyway. Nor is whistling, or chewing of gum. I just kind of started this blog and will use it because most of the people I enjoy following on Twitter and that I’m learning the most from are over here on WordPress, which does seem just a tad more “connected” than Blogspot where I keep my other three blogs.  Actually, only two of those are, by some definition, active. The other one, “HomelessChronclesinTampa” is non-active, solely because I am no longer homeless.

In a way, this is kind of a shame. The Homeless blog provided much entertainment and tons of fodder for a”humor” blog. Most of my friends enjoyed reading it and thought it was all clever and funny.  One of my friends failed to see the humor in it, and told me that. I was taken aback, but she was entitled to her opinion, and she was right, in a sense. Being homeless was not funny. Those of us coming out of that state, tend to forget the truly horrific feeling of not knowing where the next meal is going to be, if we will die from our medical conditions, and if we will ever work again. Never mind the stigma of being homeless. But, I digress. Any victi… er, fan of my writing and babbling knows that I wander, rove, migrate and ramble, but eventually, through some major miracle, I get back on track. I am also a master of run on sentences. I know; do tell.

So this is kind of the “companion” blog to the ever-famous S.I.F.O.T.S. blog at blogspot.com. That blog is a “niche” blog; shitifoundonthesidewalk.blogspot.com, or SIFOTS as I lazi… er, lovingly, call it “features ” badly taken pictures of junk I and my fellows from the shelter picked up and dragged back to our nests. I hung on to all this detritus and after I moved across the street from the homeless shelter and was no longer homeless, the Homeless blog just seemed like lying.

So, I came up with the idea for SIFOTS. I figure if people can make blogs and sport off of “Crap I Found at My Parents’ House” and the whole “ICanHazCheezburger” meme-franchise, why not a blog built around junk found on streets or sidewalks? Even better, make up some really fantastical bullshit and shoe-horn that in. Occasionally, do something “artsy” like talk about your music career, which in retrospect, sounds more and more like I spent 35 years as backup player to a C-rated lounge singer, and less and less like anything resembling a lofty experience, or talk about all the pinheads I helped at Ibm’s and Verizon’s IT desks and tell hilarious stories about the time that one guy called looking for the “Any” key, as an in-joke for the 60 year-old geeks.

Anyway, thesifotsnextdoor blog is going to be a what-ever you-all want blog. This is for my new friends and followers on Twitter. It has truly been a delight to meet each and every one of you. I am not a published writer, and my reason for doing this and my reason for being at times, is because I enjoy it. I also appreciate the new outlooks and ideas I’m garnering from each of you.

This is undoubtedly (and some would say, blessedly) the shortest post I’ve ever made. I guess good writing is not made in the length, but in the language and insights. I may achieve some of that, but smart money says I won’t. That’s okay; it will still be fun!

Mary

Thoughts, critiques and ramblings welcome!

Posted May 9, 2012 by violafury in Uncategorized

3 responses to “Hello world! Run and Save Yourselves!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    • Ah ha ha ha ha! You ABSOLUTELY must point the way to me; I love to observe straight trips to Hell as I’ve experienced a few of my own! Thanks for reading Tuatha. As an aside, you’re great fun to chat with! Mary

  2. Help you if you ever find my “icanhascheeseburger” site. I do believe I’ve got a ticket straight to hell for a couple of those I made.

Leave a Reply

